Marion County’s Hometown Hospice Since 1983

Hospice of Marion County (HMC) is an affiliate member of Empath Health. This affiliation makes us part of one of the nation’s largest non-profit, integrated network of care serving north central, central, west central and southwest Florida while serving more than 26,000 individuals in hospice care, home health, elder care and more.

Learn more about how Hospice of Marion County can help by calling (352) 873-7415.

HMC patients may receive services in their own home, assisted living facility, nursing home or in one of our three Hospice Houses. HMC has earned Deemed Status designation from the Joint Commission, the national gold standard for quality healthcare.

Hospice of Marion County annually serves more than 3,000 patients and their families.

Hospice of Marion County History

Important Dates
  • 1981: Founded as a nonprofit as Ocala Hospice
  • 1983: Licensed by the State of Florida and Dr. David Elliott became the first volunteer medical director
  • 1986: Receives first Medicare reimbursement
  • 1989: Name changed to Hospice of Marion County
  • 1992: First Hospice House opens – Sylvia’s House
  • 1994: First Thrift Store opens
  • 2001: Transitions program begins
  • 2002: First children’s grief camp held – Camp Mariposa
  • 2011: Awarded Joint Commission Accreditation
  • 2014: Joint Commission Deemed Status Accreditation received
  • 2020: Receives Level 5 National We Honor Veterans Program Partner designation
  • 2022: Nancy Renyhart Center for Dementia Education created
  • 2023: Affiliates with Empath Health
HMC Pioneers

David Elliott, MD

Dr. Elliott was HMCs first volunteer medical director. He trained under one of the founders of the modern hospice movement, Dame Cicely Saunders, at St. Christopher’s Hospice in London during a geriatric fellowship from 1976-77.  He said, “Even in my early residency I could see that not enough was being done for the terminally ill. Essentially, they were left alone to die. I wanted to change that.” He retired in 2018 and is currently a HMC volunteer.


Ann M. Allen, RN*
Kathy R. Askren*
Rev. Robert D. Askren,*
W. E. Bishop, Jr., Esq. *
John Boysen, MD, Volunteer
Roger W. Bruce*
Marilyn Curran*
Pamela W. (Davis) Michell*
David F. Elliott, MD,* First  Medical Director
Mary Gilchrist, RN, First Hospice Nurse
Debbie Harper, RN, Nursing
Rita E. Hofmann, RN*
Daisy A. Kendrick*
Carlton S. Lucius*
John Marshall*
Nan J. McMurphy*
Patricia R. Metzger*
Diane C. Morthland
Jo Ponchos, RN
Jean M. Osborne*
Debbie Parker
Ralph F. Ranieri, MSW*
Rev. Bob Smith
Larry Wood, CPA*
Edie C. Woolworth*
Charlotte Wright, RN*
Gary Wright, MD*

*1983 Charter Board of Directors

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial